top of page

Texas Thriller!

What a game! If I heard that once on Saturday night, I heard it a hundred times. And, it was certainly a fantastic football game. Arkansas beat TCU 41-38 in double overtime. It was one of the more exciting games I have ever photographed. I have been very fortunate as a sports photographer to witness and document some incredible moments in time. Today's blog will cover my night at Amon Carter Stadium on the campus of Texas Christian University in Fort Worth, Texas.

Enjoy!

GOPRO HERO 3 - 1/163, F2.8, ISO 100

Ok, so I had to take a selfie. I am standing in the south endzone of Amon Carter Stadium just prior to kickoff. It was an electric atmosphere. Not a cloud in the sky and very warm!

GOPRO HERO 3 - 1/163, F2.8, ISO 100

People often ask me what it is like to be on the field? So, here you go. Looking straight down the field from my Nikon D4. I know I say it a lot, but I am very blessed to be able to photograph football games.

NIKON D4, 1/2000, F13, ISO 320, SHUTTER PRIORITY

Have you found Jesus? Well, I certainly found a TCU fan who obviously thinks he resembles him. Being a Christian school, I found a lot of humor in this photo.

NIKON D4, 1/2000, F2.8, ISO 250, SHUTTER PRIORITY

Like I have mentioned in previous blog posts, pre-game is tight portrait time. Here I captured TCU quarterback Kenny Hill deep in thought. Check out the reflection of the stadium!

NIKON D4, 1/5000, F2.8, ISO 250, SHUTTER PRIORITY

Another nice pregame tight shot. Really liked the light and color of this image of Arkansas wide receiver Drew Morgan.

NIKON D4, 1/160, F8, ISO 250, MANUAL

I love catching coach / player interactions. In this photo, Arkansas offensive line coach Kurt Anderson speaks with offensive tackle Dan Skipper. This photo was challenging because of the exposure. You had bright sunlight in the background and shadow in the foreground. The camera struggles in the condition. I did the best I could to balance the image on the fly.

NIKON D4, 1/2000, F3.5, ISO 320, SHUTTER PRIORITY

In this photo, two TCU students are having a spirited conversation while standing in the south end zone during pregame. I always try to find people with interesting attire. A cowboy hat in Texas...suppose that might be cliche!

NIKON D4, 1/1000, F3.5, ISO 250, MANUAL

Arkansas running the ball with authority. Here running back Rawleigh Williams III tries to get away from a TCU defender in the opening minutes of the 1st quarter.

NIKON D4, 1/1000, F4, ISO 1000, MANUAL

This shot was both good and bad. Good that Arkansas linebacker Brooks Ellis (left) intercepted the ball, but bad for me that the shot wasn't tack sharp. My camera and lens didn't quite work perfectly in harmony in this photo. It happened so fast and I was a fraction of a second off on firing the shutter but I did want to share it because it was a huge play in the first half.

NIKON D4, 1/1000, F4, ISO 1000, MANUAL

The result of the above play was Ellis returning the ball for a score. He ran right into my lens and turned at the last second. As I mentioned before, right place, right time.

NIKON D4, 1/1000, F4, ISO 3200, MANUAL

Arkansas freshman defensive lineman McTelvin Agim celebrates after getting his first solo QB sack. Love the emotion in this kids face.

NIKON D4, 1/1000, F4, ISO 3200, MANUAL

TCU had a chance to win the game in regulation but the field goal was blocked by Arkansas's Dan Skipper. I was just a fraction of a second off in getting hand on ball. If you look at the football, the hand just to the left is Dan Skipper's monster paw that just blocked the attempt!

NIKON D4, 1/1000, F4, ISO 3200, MANUAL

TCU scored on their first possession with this nice snag by receiver Taj Williams. It really is a game to figure out where to be for the end zone shots. Even though he is facing away from me it was still a nice frame.

NIKON D4, 1/1000, F4, ISO 3200, MANUAL

These last two photos are what it is all about in college football. This is why I love this sport so much and why doing what I do on a Saturday night is so incredible. Shooting for an international wire service, you try to be neutral, since you are capturing images for both sides. But, being born and raised an Arkansan, it's hard not to celebrate just how fantastic this win was for the Razorbacks. This last shot will be framed and placed on my wall as a reminder of why I do this. It really says it all.

The Man Behind The Camera

Jimmy Jones, 47, is a freelance photographer based in Benton, Arkansas. Specializing in sports photography, Jimmy frequently covers the Arkansas Razorbacks, Arkansas State Red Wolves, high school and professional sporting events in the state of Arkansas and surrounding states.

 

The Kentucky Derby, the Breeder's Cup, the BCS Sugar Bowl, AT&T Cotton Bowl, The Southwest Classic, The Knoxville Nationals and the Indycar Grand Prix of Birmingham, are some of the notable events that Jimmy has captured through his lenses. Jimmy has covered the NFL, PGA Golf and NASCAR as well.

Jimmy shoots exclusively Nikon bodies and is a strong supporter of the brand. He currently owns the D4, D3s, D7100, D300s and the D60 along with a wide-variety of Nikon lenses and accessories. He also uses THINK TANK bags / harnesses, Manfrotto Tripods / Monopods, Lexar Media Cards and GO PRO cameras.

Please reload

bottom of page