top of page

20 for 20

Well, here we are. The last day of 2020. As I have mentioned in previous posts, I wasn't really sure that this year in sports photography was gonna happen. I really didn't know what to expect. But, as crazy as it was with Covid, I did manage to get some pretty nice images along the way. There were so many to choose from and narrowing down to just 20 is extremely difficult but I think the photos I chose were some of the best. I could write out a long column here talking about the year and what all happened but honestly, I am just tired of 2020 and ready to move on. I will let the images speak for themselves and write a little about each one. Enjoy! - Jimmy Jones, Benton, Arkansas 12.31.20



NIKON D4, F2.8, 1/1000, ISO 200, 70-200 2.8 VRII, MANUAL


This image of Tennessee racer Brian Bell is one of my best images of the year. I took this at a practice at I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, Arkansas right before everything closed down due to the pandemic. I featured this in another blog post because to be quite frank it's just a really damn good photo!



NIKON D4, F2.8, 1/6400, ISO 200, 70-200 2.8 VRII, MANUAL


Staying with the same day as the photo above. I took this image of Bryant, Arkansas driver Drake Findley as he hammered the cushion in turn 3 at I-30 Speedway.



NIKON D4, F2.8, 1/5000, ISO 200, 300 2.8, MANUAL


After things settled down, I was able to shoot some baseball. I captured this image at a baseball tournament in Conway, Arkansas in June. In a normal year, I shoot dozens of games. I only shot 5 in 2020.



NIKON D4, F2.8, 1/5000, ISO 200, 300 2.8, MANUAL


Sticking with baseball this was another really cool image I shot this summer of a pitcher juxtaposed with the US flag.



NIKON D4, F2.8, 1/2000, ISO 200, 300 2.8, MANUAL


I always look for interesting portraits of players. This particular player, Gage Horn, has been captured by my lenses since he was 7 years old. He's now in high school. It's really amazing how fast time flies and when I look back at how far I have come with my sports photography it's really humbling.



NIKON D4, F2.8, 1/100, ISO 400, 300 2.8, MANUAL


Back in May I shot my first dirt track racing of 2020 at Riverside International Speedway in West Memphis, Arkansas. It was the first time I had traveled away from home since the pandemic began. I will admit it was pretty stressful. But, I was able to capture some really great images. I caught Hernando, MS driver Brad Bowden coming out of turn 4 in a slow pan shot.



NIKON D4, F6.3, 1/250, ISO 640, 70-200 2.8 VRII, MANUAL


By July, I had shot a few races. It really was a relief to be able to continue to work and produce images during the pandemic. With everything happening in the world, to get away from all of that negativity and be able to capture this kick-ass wheelie image was a huge lift in my spirits. I am so thankful that I was able to capture this moment and be really happy about it. I needed it with all of the uncertainty in 2020.



NIKON D500, F2.8, 1/4000, ISO 160, 300 2.8, MANUAL


Football kicked off in August and as with everything else there was a lot of uncertainty as to if it would even happen. It created a lot of anxiety for me personally, because I love it so much. I was really happy that it started and being out there shooting the game I love so much was really rewarding for me in so many ways. This isn't what some might call a spectacular image. But, it has meaning to me because this kid, Futa Shinkawa, an under-sized linebacker for Pulaski Academy, plays the game with relentless effort and I think he really symbolizes so much about what playing football is all about, especially in this pandemic, when you never knew how long you would play.




NIKON D500, F2.8, 1/1600, ISO 100, 300 2.8, MANUAL


I have taken so many photos of Bryant quarterback Austin Ledbetter going back to when he was in 8th grade. This is one of my favorites with the awesome golden hour light in warm-ups before the Salt Bowl. It was hard to narrow down a shot to include in this top 20 because there are several. You will be able to see more in my 2020 high school football review.


NIKON D4, F2.8, 1/1000, ISO 500, 70-200 2.8 VRII, MANUAL


I guess I have developed a knack for getting cool shots of the coin toss at the annual Salt Bowl between Benton and Bryant. This shot of Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson, is actually one of the best I have taken. Check out the coin. The camera focused on the coin perfectly and you can see "AOA" on it. I am still amazed every time I look at this photo just how lucky I got to get that in focus.



NIKON D500, F2.8, 1/2500, ISO 1000, 300 2.8, MANUAL


In early September, I headed over to Scott Field in Little Rock to cover LR Central vs LR Hall. I grabbed this tight portrait of a Central linebacker during warm-ups. I would say he is just a tad bit intimidating!



NIKON D500, F2.8, 1/1600, ISO 400, 300 2.8, MANUAL


Back in the spring when I saw that Deion Sanders and his son Shedeur would be playing at Bryant, I penciled that in as a must shoot game. With the pandemic, there was a lot of uncertainty as to whether it would happen. Since Trinity Christian is a private school in Texas, they were able to travel outside the state to compete. I am sure glad they were. This ended up being one of the most exciting games of the year for Bryant.



NIKON D500, F2.8, 1/1000, ISO 1250, 300 2.8, MANUAL


I never got to photograph Deion when he played, but getting to capture him coaching his son was pretty awesome. I expect big things from them at Jackson State!



NIKON D4, F2.8, 1/1000, ISO 800, 14-24 2.8, MANUAL


In terms of just sheer beauty, this is absolutely my best photo of 2020. I captured this image at Cabot's Panther Stadium in October before they played Conway for Homecoming. Unfortunately, this is also the night that my new D500 bit the dust and stopped working. But, my trusty D4 was there to save the day!



NIKON D500, F2.8, 1/1000, ISO 3200, 300 2.8, MANUAL


This is one of my best action shots of 2020. Bryant WR Cory Nichols dives into the end zone for a TD against Cabot. The editors at the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette thought so too as it was a front page shot in Sports:


NIKON D500, F2.8, 1/5000, ISO 800, 14-24 2.8, MANUAL


I captured the Shiloh Christian football team as they walked out of the tunnel headed into War Memorial Stadium for the 4A State Championship game.



NIKON D4, F2.8, 1/2000, ISO 1600, 300 2.8, MANUAL


I think this photo is my best action shot of 2020. I caught the entire sequence as the WR made the catch but this frame with his body in the air was the best.



NIKON D4, F2.8, 1/5000, ISO 200, 300 2.8, MANUAL


One the best plays in the 5A State Championship game was the one-handed catch. I didn't have the optimal angle, but it still was pretty nice.



NIKON D4, F2.8, 1/4000, ISO 640, 300 2.8, MANUAL


Normally. the Heisman pose is something that a player does intentionally. Shiloh QB Eli Wisdom is avoiding a defender that is actually in the full frame that I cropped down. I liked the image of just him and actually used it as the main image for a poster design.



NIKON D500, F2.8, 1/8000, ISO 400, 14-24 2.8, MANUAL


The motto of the Bryant Hornets football team under coach Buck James is 212 and Be The Best. Well, Bryant has certainly given that extra degree these last 3 years and they certainly are the best. Going back-to-back undefeated and winning three straight 7A Championships, they have established themselves in the conversation about the best teams ever at the highest classification in Arkansas. They deserve it and have proven it on the field. Bryant is just getting started and they will be a contender under the command of Buck James for a long time to come!



Personal note:


I just want to say thank you to everyone that has supported me and my work this past year. 2020 was extremely difficult and it was an emotional rollercoaster to say the least. I have to thank Jeff Mitchell and Jeremy Muck and all the folks at the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette for supporting my work. Luke Matheson at Arkansas Varsity and my new gig with Scorebooklive.com, JD Humburg and Nate Olson. And finally, I have to give a HUGE amount of thanks to my wife, Robin Young Jones for supporting me throughout this season. I absolutely could not do this without her love and support!


See you all in 2021!
















The Man Behind The Camera

Jimmy Jones, 47, is a freelance photographer based in Benton, Arkansas. Specializing in sports photography, Jimmy frequently covers the Arkansas Razorbacks, Arkansas State Red Wolves, high school and professional sporting events in the state of Arkansas and surrounding states.

 

The Kentucky Derby, the Breeder's Cup, the BCS Sugar Bowl, AT&T Cotton Bowl, The Southwest Classic, The Knoxville Nationals and the Indycar Grand Prix of Birmingham, are some of the notable events that Jimmy has captured through his lenses. Jimmy has covered the NFL, PGA Golf and NASCAR as well.

Jimmy shoots exclusively Nikon bodies and is a strong supporter of the brand. He currently owns the D4, D3s, D7100, D300s and the D60 along with a wide-variety of Nikon lenses and accessories. He also uses THINK TANK bags / harnesses, Manfrotto Tripods / Monopods, Lexar Media Cards and GO PRO cameras.

Please reload

bottom of page